Saints Peter and Paul Church Jersey City

109 Grand St, Jersey City, New Jersey 07302


Latest Updates

@Saints Peter and Paul Church Jersey City 2017-12-03

The cross on the top of the iconostasis is finally lit again, just in time for the Nativity of Christ! Thanks to the volunteers for their time and resources.

@Saints Peter and Paul Church Jersey City 2017-11-06

We are proud to announce our beautiful new home in the World Wide Web. God bless Andrew Boyd for donating his talent, time, and money to creating this website. Please visit us at www.PeterPaul.church.

@Saints Peter and Paul Church Jersey City 2017-10-16

The Gates of Heaven fundraiser has been a success. Thank you for your generosity. This is an update to our parishioners and donors that we are still trying to source a contractor to do the work on the doors, and we have to be careful about who we choose because of the complexity of the job. We will continue to explore options and will update you once the project begins.

@Saints Peter and Paul Church Jersey City 2017-09-25

Celebrating hierarchical liturgy on the 110 anniversary of our parish.

@Saints Peter and Paul Church Jersey City 2017-05-09

Information on Annual Pilgrimage to Saint Tikhon s Monastery

@Saints Peter and Paul Church Jersey City 2017-04-30

In commemorating the Holy Myhrrbearers, our choir director Aleksei presented the ladies in the choir lovely roses - a tradition started 40 years ago.

@Saints Peter and Paul Church Jersey City 2017-04-29

Sunday of Myrrhbearing Women Vespers Saturday 5:00PM Divine Liturgy Sunday 9:30AM (Followed by Life & Bread Social Hour Sponsored by Andrew Boyd and Children s Church School)

@Saints Peter and Paul Church Jersey City 2017-04-28

Children s Church School is back in session. The first class will be this Sunday 4/30, following Liturgy.

@Saints Peter and Paul Church Jersey City 2017-04-27

The sorrow we experienced last Thursday during the Passion Gospels reading has turned into joy for His Resurrection and our salvation.

@Saints Peter and Paul Church Jersey City 2017-04-26

Would you like to deepen your understanding of the Orthodox faith? Join us this evening at 7:00PM in the church hall for Inquirers Class.

@Saints Peter and Paul Church Jersey City 2017-04-24

Our SSPPNJ children lead the procession with icons during the Vespers service on Pascha. Christ Is Risen! While celebrating Christ s glorious rising from the dead, please consider a donation, through the link below, for necessary church maintenance in time for our 110 anniversary. http://www.youcaring.com/GatesOfHeaven


See more beauty services near Jersey City

About

NY NJ Diocese of Orthodox Church in America

Description

Welcome to Saints Peter and Paul Orthodox Church in Jersey City, New Jersey, We are Orthodox community serving Northeastern New Jersey in the Diocese of New York and New Jersey of the Orthodox Church in America (OCA). We warmly welcome all who are searching for a church that is in unchanging continuity with the Church of the Apostles and where they may find the purity of the Apostolic Faith.

General Info

The missionary zeal of the clergy of the Russian Orthodox Church implanted the Cross of Christ in 1794 in Alaska and grew the Church of Christ across America. The Church in Alaska baptized thousands of the indigenous. population. In the late 1800’s immigrants from southeastern Europe and of the Orthodox faith established parishes throughout America, and Saints Peter and Paul Church was among the first of the new communities. Under the pastoral guidance of Archpriest Alexander Hotovitzky, who served under the His Grace, Bishop TIKHON (Belavin), who later became a Holy Confessor, and Patriarch of All-Russia, the parish was founded on March 25, 1907. The church only a mile from Ellis Island became a hub for the ‘newcomers’ and served their needs. The temple in which the parish worships today was consecrated in 1928, by the Most Reverend PLATON (Rozhdestvensky), Archbishop of North America and the Aleutian Islands, later Metropolitan of the Russian Orthodox Church of North America. His Grace, Bishop MICHAEL (Dahulich), presides over the parish as Bishop of New York and the Diocese of New York and New Jersey, and the parish is ministered daily by its pastor, Archpriest Joseph Lickwar.

Parking

Lot Parking Yes
Street Parking Yes
Valet Parking No

Operating Hours

monClosed
tueClosed
wedClosed
thuClosed
friClosed
satClosed
sunClosed

Suggestions

Jersey City Spanish SDA Church

240 Montgomery St, Jersey City, New Jersey 07302
Seventh Day Adventist Church, Religious Center, Religious Organization


Privacy Policy